Real Madrid win 33rd La Liga title

A 2-0 win away to Malaga proved decisive

Real Madrid win 33rd La Liga title

Picture by: Daniel Tejedor/AP/Press Association Images

Real Madrid were named Spanish champions for the 33rd time, on Sunday night, after a 2-0 win away to Malaga.

The reigning Champions League winners won the title for the first time since 2012, to extend their lead in the all-time standings to nine titles. They finished three points ahead of Barcelona.

Zinedine Zidane's side only needed a draw to win the title. If they lost to Malaga, Zidane's side would have lost the title on a head-to-head record against Barcelona if the Catalans won at home to Eibar.

It took Real less than two minutes to take the lead against their southern rivals, with a goal from Cristiano Ronaldo. A goal from Karim Benzema ten minutes into the second-half guaranteed the win, and the title.

With a Champions League Final to come in a fortnight's time, Real could win the only their third League and European Cup double if the defeat Juventus in Cardiff next month.

After the win, Real travelled from Malaga back to the Spanish capital for late-night celebrations with their fans on the Fuente de Cibeles in what is a club tradition.

The win means that if Real will be a top seed in next season's Champions League, no matter what happens in the Cardiff final.