Rory McIlroy paired with Bubba Watson at The Open

Shane Lowry will play with Jordan Spieth in the opening two rounds at Royal Troon

The Open, Golf, McIlroy, Clarke, Harrington, Lowry, Royal Troon

Picture by: Lynne Sladky / AP/Press Association Images

Ahead of the the 145th Open Championship at Royal Troon later this week, the pairings have been revealed for the opening two rounds.

Six Irish golfers are part of the 156-man field with the majority with five of the players among the early starters.

Current European Ryder Cup captain and the 2011 Open Champion Darren Clarke is the first Irish player to take to the Scottish links. The 47-year-old will tee off just before 7.45am with Denmark's Thorbjorn Olesen and former US Open champion Jim Furyk.

Two-time winner Padraig Harrington will be joined by former winner Louis Oosthuizen and Ryder Cup star Jamie Donaldson just before 8.30am. Paul Dunne will be in the group to tee-off after Harrington. Dunne was the joint-leader going into the final round at St. Andrews last year. He will play with the American duo of Scott Piercy and Jamie Lovemark.

Shane Lowry's position as one of the best golfers in the world is cemented by being paired with two former major winners. The Offaly star will tee off with Jordan Spieth and Justin Rose. 2014 Champion Rory McIlroy missed last year's event due to injury. He will play with Hideki Matsuyama and Bubba Watson.

Graeme McDowell will be the sole Irish player to tee off in the afternoon. He will be joined by Matt Kuchar and Andrew Johnson for the first two rounds.

Royal Troon member and former Ryder Cup captain Colin Montgomerie will take the opening tee-shot of the event at 6.35pm.

Selected tee-times (Irish in bold)

7.41am: Darren Clarke, Thorbjorn Olesen and Jum Furyk

8.25am: Padraig Harrington, Louis Oosthuizen and Jamie Donaldson

8.36am: Paul Dunne, Scott Piercy and Jamie Lovemark

9.03am: Shane Lowry, Jordan Spieth and Justin Rose

9.25pm: Danny Willett, Rickie Fowler and Jason Day

9.36am: Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama and Bubba Watson

1.15pm: Graeme McDowell, Matt Kuchar and Andrew Johnson

1.26pm: Phil Mickelson, Lee Westwood and Ernie Els

2.04pm: Dustin Johnson, Martin Kaymer and Russell Knox

2.15pm: Zach Johnson, Adam Scott and Henrik Stenson