Sam Cane escapes punishment after being cited for tackle on Robbie Henshaw

The tackle was ruled an 'accidental collision' on Tuesday afternoon

BY Newstalk 19:50 Tuesday 22 November 2016, 19:50 22 Nov 2016

New Zealand's Sam Cane will face no punishment from World Rugby after his challenge on Robbie Henshaw was ruled an 'accidental collision'.

Cane was cited for the tackle during Ireland's defeat to the All Blacks on Saturday afternoon, which also saw Malakai Fekitoa pick up a one-week ban for his high tackle on Simon Zebo.

The tackles have been widely condemned and Ireland also vented their frustration at the referee after their bruising game with Steve Hansen's side at the Aviva Stadium.

An independent disciplinary committee decided that the tackle did not warrant an suspension.

Here's the tackle:

What do you make of the decision?

News

"He's sad and I'm sad" - Pep Guardiola discusses latest Kompany setback as injury nightmare continues

18:32 Tuesday 22 November 2016 2 Minute Read
News

Karol Mannion left frustrated by being unable to play home fixtures at home

18:36 Tuesday 22 November 2016 3 Minute Read
News

Christina Desmond to return home with bronze after semi-final defeat in Sofia

18:55 Tuesday 22 November 2016 1 Minute Read
News

Bruce Arena announced as USA's Klinsmann replacement

19:16 Tuesday 22 November 2016 2 Minute Read
Off The Ball

Newsletter

The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week