Scotland and Japan await Ireland in 2019 Rugby World Cup

The draw took place on Wednesday morning in Kyoto

BY Daniel Kelly 09:33 Wednesday 10 May 2017, 9:33 10 May 2017

Scotland's Finn Russell in action against Japan in the 2015 World Cup. Photo credit: David Davies/PA Wire

Ireland have been drawn against 2019 Rugby World Cup hosts Japan, after the draw was made on Wednesday morning.

The draw also sees Ireland face Six Nations rivals Scotland in a draw that will be seen as favourable by head coach Joe Schmidt. Two qualifiers will complete Pool A.

Like what happened in 2015, England have undoubtedly been handed the 'Pool of Death'. Eddie Jones side will meet France and Argentina, along with two other qualifiers. Only two teams will qualify from the Pool.

In Pool B, there will be a clash of Southern Hemisphere giants as New Zealand and South Africa have been paired together. Italy and with two other qualifiers will try and cause a shock.

For the second World Cup in a row, Australia and Wales meet in the Pool stages. The two teams have been joined by Georgia and qualifiers from Oceania and the Americas.

The tournament begins on September 20th, 2019, with the Final taking place in Yokohama on November 2nd. 

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Play-Off Winner.

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage Winner.

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2.

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2.


Gianni Infantino vows to fight racist "idiots"

16:24 Tuesday 9 May 2017 2 Minute Read

Owen Coyle and Blackburn part ways

16:16 Tuesday 21 February 2017 1 Minute Read

Rafa Benitez refuses to commit to Newcastle for next season

08:19 Tuesday 25 April 2017 2 Minute Read

Aidan O'Brien trained Churchill wins 2,000 Guineas

16:38 Saturday 6 May 2017 2 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week