Sevilla have become Europa League specialists in the last decade

The Spanish side have won four titles since 2006

sevilla, football, la liga, europa league, liverpool, uefa cup

Picture by: Czarek Sokolowski / AP/Press Association Images

Europa League champions Sevilla are all that stands between Liverpool and the Premier League side winning a fourth title.

Both teams came through their respective semi-finals on Thursday night to win their ties by two-goal margins. Liverpool are the only non-Spanish side in a European final this season, after defeating Villarreal, while Sevilla overcame Shakhtar Donetsk in Spain.

While Liverpool were historically one of the more successful teams in Europe's secondary competition, Sevilla are now at the top of the honours table after dominating the previous decade.

Sevilla have won the 2006, 2007, 2014 and 2015 Finals. They have a 100% record in the show-piece match.

Worryingly for Liverpool, Sevilla's biggest win in their finals came against English opposition. Middlesbrough were on the end of a 4-0 defeat in 2006 in Eindhoven. It remains the biggest margin of victory in a final, since the tournament was settled by a one-off match, beginning in 1998.

No team has won three European competitions in a row, since Bayern Munich won the European Cup in 1974, 1975 and 1976. Sevilla will have the chance later this month to write their names in history.