Simon Zebo returns to the Munster team to face the Dragons

The games takes place on Saturday evening in Thomand Park

newstalk, munster, rugby, pro 12, simon zebo

Simon Zebo Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Munster Head Coach Anthony Foley has made three changes from the side that defeated Treviso for Saturday's return to Thomond Park where Munster face Newport Gwent Dragons in round 17 of the competition.

Following his 6 Nations involvement against England in Twickenham last weekend, Simon Zebo has been made available to the province and will make his first appearance in red since January, while Stephen Archer also makes a welcome return to the matchday squad after successfully overcoming a neck injury that has kept him sidelined since October. Should he make an appearance from the bench, the tighthead will win his 100th Munster cap.

The first of two changes to the pack sees hooker Niall Scannell join Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan in the front row. Mark Chisholm and captain Billy Holland continue in the second row, while in the back row, Tommy O'Donnell returns at 7 with Dave O'Callaghan and Jack O'Donoghue switching to 6 and 8 respectively.

Simon Zebo starts on the left wing in an otherwise unchanged backline. Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley form the half-back partnership and Rory Scannell makes his tenth consecutive start at inside centre in partnering Francis Saili in the midfield. Winger Darren Sweetnam and fullback Andrew Conway again complete the starting XV.

If called upon from the bench, recent long-term injury returnee Johnny Holland will make his first appearance of the season.

Munster team and replacements to face Treviso:

(15-9): Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo, Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams.

(1-8): Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue.

Replacements (16-23): Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Robin Copeland, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, David Johnston.