Sligo Rovers and Bray Wanderers entered into Scottish Challenge Cup

The 2017 League of Ireland launch has taken place

BY Raf Diallo 15:35 Tuesday 14 February 2017, 15:35 14 Feb 2017

Pictured today (L-R) Drogheda United’s Richie Purdy, Finn Harps’ Johnny Barrett, Galway United’s Colm Horgan, Derry City’s Aaron McEneff, Shamrock Rovers’ Ronan Finn, Dundalk’s Stephen O’Donnell, Cork City’s Steven Beattie, Limerick’s Dave O’Connor, Bohemians’ Dinny Corcoran, St. Patrick’s Athletic Athletics’ Ian Bermingham, Sligo Rovers Craig Roddan and Bray Wanderer’s Conor Kenna ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

League of Ireland Premier Division clubs Sligo Rovers and Bray Wanderers will be entered into next season's Scottish Challenge Cup.

The FAI Director of Competitions Fran Gavin made the announcement at today's launch of the 2017 Airtricity League.

The competition features teams from outside the Scottish Premiership as well as the top flight's under 20 teams.

This year's tournament also included two clubs each from Wales and Northern Ireland.

Both Sligo Rovers and Bray Wanderers reacted positively to the news:




Scottish Premier Division side Rangers were the reigning Scottish Challenge Cup champions, having won the 2015-16 edition, beating Peterhead 4-0 in the final at Hampden Park on April 10th 2016.

Welsh and Northern Irish clubs will also feature, having done so during the current 2016-17 tournament.

Crusaders and Linfield are involved in 2016-17 from Northern Ireland, while Wales are represented by The New Saints and Bala Town. 

The 2017 League of Ireland season kicks off on February 24th, with the curtain raiser, the President of Ireland's Cup between reigning league champions Dundalk and FAI Cup holders Cork City taking place on February 17th at Turner's Cross


"You can have Ferrari type players but don't have a Skoda engine inside it" - Pat Nevin on dropping Rooney

20:08 Monday 26 September 2016 0 Minute Read

Gallery: All of Saturday's GAA action

21:40 Saturday 4 February 2017 4 Minute Read

Tiger Woods pulls out of the next two tournaments

17:00 Friday 10 February 2017 1 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week