Stander and Ringrose on shortlist for European Player of the Year

Furlong and Murray had been on the long list

BY Raf Diallo 19:12 Monday 24 April 2017, 19:12 24 Apr 2017

Ireland's CJ Stander, Garry Ringrose ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Ireland international rugby duo CJ Stander and Garry Ringrose have made it onto the five man shortlist for the 2017 EPCR European Player of the Year award.

The Munster back row and Leinster centre are joined by Saracens pair Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje, as well as Clermont Auvergne out-half Camile Lopez.

The Player of the Year will be decided by public vote and you can cast your vote right here.

Stander and Ringrose were the two Irish players to make the cut from the original 15 man shortlist of players revealed in March.

Leinster prop Tadhg Furlong and Munster scrum half Conor Murray had been included on that long list.

When the award was known as the ERC European Player of the Year, Sean O'Brien and Rob Kearney won respectively in 2012 and 2011, while Ronan O'Gara was the first recipient of the award in 2010 - one that was awarded for the previous seasons. 

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week