Three changes for Ireland side to face Wales

Ireland's women head coach Tom Tierney makes a few alterations

BY Raf Diallo 15:42 Wednesday 8 March 2017, 15:42 8 Mar 2017

reland's Sene Naoupu ©INPHO/Craig Watson

Ireland women's rugby head coach Tom Tierney has made three changes to his team for the Six Nations clash against Wales on Saturday at Cardiff Arms Park.

Alison Miller, Hannah Tyrrell and Sene Naoupu are included in the team, while Kim Flood moves from the wing to full back, having featured in the former role in the last game against France.

An Ireland win in Wales will put them within one victory of a Grand Slam, having won three from three so far. England, who also have the same record from three games so far, are the final side Ireland will face in this year's championship.

"The squad has been developing nicely over the course of the Championship, and while it was great to get the win against France in the last game, we haven't dwelled on that and have firmly turned our attention to the challenge the Welsh will give us," said Tierney.

"We are expecting Wales to be very much up for this game and there is set to be a big crowd in the Cardiff Arms Park on Saturday.

"With that in mind, it will be important that the players stay fully focused on their jobs and that we go out on Saturday ready to perform.

"We'd also encourage any Ireland fans that are in town for the men's game on Friday evening and are still in Cardiff on Saturday to come to the game and give the team their support."

Ireland XV to face Wales

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union / Leinster)
2. Leah Lyons (Highfield / Munster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College / Leinster) Captain
9. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere / Connacht)
12. Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
14. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
15. Kim Flood (Railway Union / Leinster)

16. Ciara O Connor (Galwegians / Connacht)
17. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke / Ulster)
18. Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians / Connacht)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Nichola Fryday (Tullamore / Connacht)
21. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union / Ulster)
23. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)


Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week