Tom Tierney names side that could kickstart the "biggest season in the history of Ireland's Women's Rugby"

They are about to embark on the November Series that will be a platform for the World Cup

BY Raf Diallo 16:34 Thursday 10 November 2016, 16:34 10 Nov 2016

Pictured at the pool draw for the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 in Belfast City Hall are Clare McLaughlin, Niamh Briggs, Tom Tierney (Ireland Women's coach) Nora Stapleton and Alison Miller. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Ireland Women's head coach Tom Tierney has revealed his Ireland women's senior side to face their English counterparts this Sunday in the UCD Bowl.

In what will be the first of three November Series games for the Irish team, Tierney has included one uncapped player in the starting side, in the shape of Nicole Fowley who is at outside centre for the fixture.

Leah Lyons and Chloe Pearse are the other two uncapped players in the wider squad, with both of those players starting on the bench.

Captain Niamh Briggs is one of the experienced names side-lined due to injury. She is currently in the midst of rehabbing a hamstring injury she picked up in a recent club game.

Loose-head prop Lindsay Peat will make her first start for Ireland.

"This weekend marks the first game of what is arguably going to be the biggest season in the history of Ireland's Women's Rugby," said Tierney as he named his team.

"The Women's Rugby World Cup is now less than nine months away, and while there a lot of rugby to be played between now and then, the players are very eager to run out at UCD this Sunday and get things underway in our first ever November Series.

"We're without some of our more experienced players this weekend, but this gives other members of the squad the opportunity to develop their game and get some much needed experience themselves.

"Starting this weekend, we'll play three games in three weeks against some very competitive opposition and this is important as we prepare for the pool games of the World Cup in UCD."

Ireland team to England on Sunday November 13th

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union / Leinster)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union / Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Maire-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
5. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's / Leinster) Captain
9. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere / Connacht)
12. Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
13. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians / Connacht)*
14. Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians / Munster)
15. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)

16. Leah Lyons (Highfield / Munster)*
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians / Munster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians / Munster)
19. Katie Norris (Blackrock College / Leinster)
20. Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemians / Munster)*
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union / Ulster)
23. Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere / Leinster)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week