Tyson Fury could lose IBF title if he agrees to Klitschko rematch

Fury must fight the mandatory challenger or vacate his belt if a rematch with Klitschko is agreed upon.

The chairman of the IBF, Lindsey Tucker, has warned Tyson Fury that he will have to vacate his IBF world heavyweight title if he has a rematch with Wladimir Klitschko. 

"To be clear, Tyson Fury must fight Vyacheslav Glazkov next. If they agree terms before December 11 we cancel the purse bid." Tucker told World Boxing News.

Glazkov is the mandatory challenger but Fury might chose to fight Klitschko in a lucrative rematch instead. Tucker then invoked Rule 3B Return Bout, which states "No contract for a championship contest shall contain any clause or provision, whatsoever, guaranteeing or in any way assuring or promising either contestant a return Championship contest where such clause or provision interferes with the mandatory defense of the Title."

Fury won the WBA, WBO and IBF belts by defeating Russian Klitschko on points in Espirit Arena in Dussledorf on Saturday. Klitschko, the clear favourite, had won 64 of his previous 67 fights but was beaten somewhat comprehensively in the end by the Englishman. 

After the bout, Fury said "I’m a fighter so I will take on all challengers and be a great champion. I’d like to do it all again ." 

Klitschko is also said to be keen on a rematch but it would mean Fury vacating the IBF world heavyweight belt in order to facilitate such a contest.