Vardy, Payet and Mahrez make it onto the Ballon D'Or shortlist

They are in the company of Messi and Ronaldo in the 30-man list

BY Raf Diallo 18:10 Monday 24 October 2016, 18:10 24 Oct 2016

Picture by: Nick Potts / PA Wire/Press Association Images

Leicester's Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez have been nominated for the 2016 Ballon d'Or prize for the world's best footballer.

It is recognition for the duo's part in the Foxes' 2015-16 Premier League title triumph, while West Ham's Dimitri Payet has also earned a nomination after shining with West Ham at club level and then early on in France's run to the Euro 2016 final on home soil.

They joins the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Gareth Bale among the 30 players in contention for the prize.

Manchester City pair Sergio Aguero and Kevin de Bruyne, are also on the shortlist, along with the French duo of Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba and Tottenham goalkeeper Hugo Lloris.

The shortlist is as follows:

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Pepe (Real Madrid), Neymar (Barcelona), Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich).

Messi has won the FIFA Ballon D'Or in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015 as well as the 2009 version, while Ronaldo won the award in 2013 and 2014 and the 2008 version.

Ronaldo finished runner-up in three of the years his Barcelona counterpart won it. Messi was runner-up both times Ronaldo triumphed.

Barcelona and Brazil attacker Neymar was third for the 2015 Ballon D'Or.

The last time neither Ronaldo or Messi were awarded the prize was prior to its merging with FIFA when then AC Milan midfielder Kaka won in 2007.


Leinster pay tribute to Anthony Foley by wearing red in France

14:03 Sunday 23 October 2016 0 Minute Read

Success for Ireland's under-19s as they top their Women's Euro qualifying group

16:27 Sunday 23 October 2016 0 Minute Read

Paddy Mulligan explains why the legendary Waterford United side of the '60s may have the edge on Dundalk

15:57 Monday 24 October 2016 0 Minute Read

Padraig Harrington: "It just struck me how poor my language to myself had been"

19:50 Monday 24 October 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week