WATCH: How did Ireland's four Open Champions win the Claret Jug?

We look back at the wins of Fred Daly, Padraig Harrington, Darren Clarke and Rory McIlroy

golf, the open, fred daly, padraig harrington, darren clarke, rory mcilroy

Padraig Harrington celebrates with the claret jug Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Getty Images

As the 145th Open begins at Royal Troon on Thursday, six Irish golfers including three previous champions will be hoping to get their hands on the Claret Jug on Sunday evening.

While Ireland has had tremendous success in the past decade at the event winning on four occasions, Fred Daly was the first to win golf's oldest major in 1947. 

1947: Fred Daly

The Portursh native was Ireland's first major champion. He won The Open at Hoylake, finishing on +21, one shot ahead of England's Reg Horne and American amateur Frank Stranahan.

2007: Padraig Harrington

It took 40 years for the second Irish golfer to lift the Claret Jug. Padraig Harrington defeated Sergio Garcia in a four-hole playoff to win his first major title.

2008: Padraig Harrington

12 months later, Harrington would become only the 16th player to defend the title. At Royal Birkdale, the Dubliner overcame a challenge from Greg Norman to win the title by four strokes.

2011: Darren Clarke

He had finished in second place 14 years previously, but Darren Clarke finally got his hands on the Claret Jug at Royal St George's. The Dungannon golfer led from the second round and was a four-shot winner.

2014: Rory McIlroy

McIlroy won his first open, and third major title at the same course Fred Daly was victorious on almost 70 years previously. The Hollywood star was a two-shot winner ahead of Rickie Fowler and Sergio Garcia.

Let's hope that on Sunday evening the Champion golfer of the year will be an Irishman