WATCH: Referee uses video replay to award penalty during Club World Cup

Kashima Anters beat South American champions Atletico Nacional and for the first time ever a referee used video replays to award a spot kick

BY Cian Roche 17:00 Wednesday 14 December 2016, 17:00 14 Dec 2016

Image: Eugene Hoshiko / AP/Press Association Images

Japanese side Kashima Anters booked their place in the final of the Club World Cup after a rousing 3-0 victory over South American side Atletico Nacional.

The result may not sound all that remarkable to folks this side of the world, but the game itself featured a small piece of history which could have wider ramifications for the world game as a whole.

For the first time ever, a referee was able to use video technology to award a penalty kick after a player was alleged to have been tripped in the box.

Hungarian referee Viktor Kassai took it upon himself to investigate the incident further after a host of complaints came from the Kashima bench.

The player was adjudged to have been tripped in the box, allowing Shoma Doi to step up and the slot the ball home.

Kashima Anters now become the first Japanses team to reach the final, where they'll now face either Real Madrid or Mexico’s Club America.

Video technology designed to aid officials is currently being trialed at the competition. 

Off The Ball

Newsletter

The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week