Wasps respond to referee error: It's "hugely disappointing"

Wasps lost to Connacht after the home side scored from a line-out they should not have been allowed to take

BY Simon Maguire 15:35 Monday 19 December 2016, 15:35 19 Dec 2016

Connacht players celebrate with winning goal kicker Jack Carty Image: ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

English side Wasps have released a statement in the wake of a Champions Cup refereeing error which led to their defeat to Connacht at the weekend.

In the dying moments of the game, Connacht were allowed to kick to touch and take a line-out after the clock had passed 80 minutes.

The westerners scored from the resulting line-out maul to bring the sides level at 18-18. Jack Carty converted with the last kick of the match to give Pat Lam's men an unlikely win.

Yesterday, European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR) officials admitted an error had been made and Connacht should not have been allowed to take the controversial line-out.

Today, Wasps released the following statement: "Wasps’ pitch-side officials immediately stressed to the 4th official that Connacht could not take the line-out, as the referee had indicated time had gone beyond 80 minutes. Wasps’ players on the pitch also emphasised to the referee that time was up. Despite several protests, the line-out was still allowed to be taken.
 
"We all understand referees are only human and mistakes do occasionally happen. However, for a referee and 4th official to get the laws of the game wrong at a crucial stage of a big match is hugely disappointing. The error made could have serious repercussions in terms of Wasps’ qualification hopes or the prospect of securing a home quarter final.
 
"EPCR have stated that the result stands. We congratulate Connacht after a hard fought contest and we will now move on to the final rounds, after tough Premiership games against Bath, Newcastle and Leicester Tigers."

Off The Ball

Newsletter

The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week