Four Ireland players make European Player of the Year shortlist

They are among six Irish-based players from the 15-man list

BY Raf Diallo 21:20 Tuesday 21 March 2017, 21:20 21 Mar 2017

Tadgh Furlong ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Four Ireland rugby internationals have made the shortlist for the EPCR European Player of the Year 2017.

Munster's CJ Stander and Conor Murray as well as Leinster duo Tadhg Furlong and Garry Ringrose have made the 15 man shortlist for the award.

That quarter are among a total of six players based in the Irish provinces who are on the shortlist.

The two other players based in Ireland are Munster out half Tyler Bleyendaal and fellow New Zealand born Leinster star Isa Nacewa.

They are joined by Thomas Young (Wasps and Wales), Noa Nakaitaci (Clermont and France), Camille Lopez (Clermont and France), Joe Launchbury (Wasps and England), last year's winner Maro Itoje (Saracens and England), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Jonny Gray (Glasgow and Scotland), Owen Farrell (Saracens and England) and Elliot Daly (Wasps and England).

When the award was known as the ERC European Player of the Year, Sean O'Brien and Rob Kearney won respectively in 2012 and 2011, while Ronan O'Gara was the first recipient of the award in 2010 - one that was awarded for the previous seasons.

The vote will open on April 3rd after the Champions Cup and Challenge Cup quarter finals have taken place.

CJ Stander

 Garry Ringrose

Conor Murray 

Tadhg Furlong 

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week