Repeat: OTB Breakfast

05:00 AM-07:00 AM

Repeat: OTB Breakfast


Toner out of Ireland Rugby World Cup squad

Devin Toner has been an integral part of the Joe Schmidt setup with Ireland but reports today say...

Devin Toner has been an integral part of the Joe Schmidt setup with Ireland but reports today say the Leinster lock will not travel to the Rugby World Cup in Japan.

Joe Schmidt has sent in his final list of 31 players to World rugby. The Kiwi coach has decided not to publicly announce the squad until after next week's final warm-up game with Wales.

Toner is the highest-profile absentee on the leaked list, only Conor Murray has played more minutes for Ireland in this World cup cycle than the Kildare second-row.


Other players who may feel hard done by are Jordie Murphy, who has won all but four of his Ireland caps under Schmidt.

Chris Farrell also reportedly misses out. Will Addison's versatility and fine showing at the weekend in the win over a shadow Wales team helping secure his spot on the plane.

Leinster's Luke McGrath will go as cover for Murray, with Marmion missing out. According to the reports Ireland will travel with just two scrum-halves, like England and Australia, whereas New Zealand travel with three.

That means the five half-backs are likely to be Sexton, Carbery and Carty at ten with McGrath and Murray the nines.

Jack McGrath will not be in Japan either, with Kilcoyne putting in an outstanding performance in Cardiff at the weekend and Porter can play both side of the front row. The St Mary's man can't have many complaints.

According to the various reports, Ireland will have a 17/14 forwards to backs ratio in the Rugby World Cup panel.

The leaking of the squad has led to Irish Rugby bringing forward the date for publishing the squad to today.

Possible Ireland World Cup squad:

Hookers (3): Rory Best, Niall Scannell, Sean Cronin

Props (5): Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Tadhg Furlong, John Ryan, Andrew Porter

Locks (4): James Ryan, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne

Back rows (5): Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Jack Conan, Josh van der Flier, Rhys Ruddock

Scrum-halves (2): Conor Murray, Luke McGrath

Out-halves (3): Johnny Sexton, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty

Centres (4): Bundee Aki, Robbie Henshaw, Garry Ringrose, Will Addison

Back threes (5): Jacob Stockdale, Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Jordan Larmour, Andrew Conway.

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Devin Toner RWC Rugby Schmidt