Highlights on Off The Ball

02:00 PM-06:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball

REVEALED: The Longford sporting Mount Rushmore

Longford would be far from the most populated county in Ireland, but if its Mount Rushmore is any...

REVEALED: The Longford sportin...

REVEALED: The Longford sporting Mount Rushmore

Longford would be far from the most populated county in Ireland, but if its Mount Rushmore is anything to go by there is no lack of sporting talent.

Mickey Quinn and Denis Connerton made the picks of the top four sportspeople from the County of the 'Slashers' on OTB AM.

Here were the final four to make the mountain in Longford:


SHOWJUMPING - Eddie Macken

The Granard native is an equestrian legend in this country, and was a household name in his prime.

Macken was part of the Irish team that won the Aga Khan Cup three years in a row from 1977 to 1979. He also picked up individual silver medals at the Show Jumping World Championships - with Pele in 1974 and Boomerang in 1978.

12 August 1995, Eddie Macken, Kerrygold Showjumping Competiton, Picture Credit: /SPORTSFILE



The first Irish person to break the sub-four minute mile, Flynn went on to achieve that feat 89 times across the course of his athletics career.

Flynn also still holds the Irish 1500 metres record, set in Oslo back in 1982.

1 November 1998; Sports agent Ray Flynn at the Amsterdam Marathon in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile



Barry was unquestionably Longford's biggest star in the 1980s and 1990s, lining out for the county for an extraordinary 18 years.

He was nominated for an All-Star on three occasions, represented Ireland in the International Rules, and won the Railway Cup with Leinster in 1988.

Barry won six Longford senior county titles with Longford Slashers, and was named on the county's Team of the Millennium.

Dessie Barry of Longford. Photo by Ray McManus/Sportsfile



McGee was best known for his exploits with another Leinster county - guiding Offaly to the All-Ireland senior football championship in 1982, where they stopped the Kingdom five-in-a-row.

The Longford man also helped Offaly to Leinster titles in 1980, 1981, and 1982, while on the playing field he won a Longford county title with his club Newtowncashel.

McGee sadly passed away last year at the age of 77, but will forever hold a place in the annals of Longford sporting history.

19 September 1982; Offaly manager Eugene McGee makes his way onto the pitch before the start of the game. All-Ireland Senior Football Final, Kerry v Offaly, Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE


Missed any of our Mount Rushmore county-by-county series? Watch back all episodes here! 

Here is Nathan Murphy's selection of Mayo

Here is Colm Boohig's selection of Cork

Here is Will O'Callaghan and Paul Rouse's selection of Offaly

Here is Shane Hannon and Gráinne McElwain's selection of Monaghan

Here is Diarmuid Lyng and Liam Griffin's selection of Wexford

Here is Neil Treacy and Jack Anderson's selection of Limerick

Here is Enda Coll and Kieran Cunningham's selection of Donegal

Here is Máire-Treasa Nic-Cheallaigh and Michael Lyster's selection of Galway

Here is Adrian Barry and Conor Moore's selection of Westmeath

Here is Ronan Mullen and Dan McDonnell's selection of Louth

Here is Alan Quinlan and Michael Quinlivan's selection of Tipperary

Here is Tommy Rooney and Hector Ó'hEochagáin's selection of Meath

Here is Conor Deegan and Donal O'Neill's selection of Down

Here is Ger Gilroy and Joe Molloy's selection of Kildare

Here is Thom Malone and Paul Howard's selection of Wicklow

Here is Dave McIntyre and Paul Fitzpatrick's selection of Cavan

Here is Arthur O'Dea and Alan Cawley's selection of Sligo

Here is Eoin Sheahan and Kieran Donaghy's selection of Kerry

Here is Cliona Foley and Shane Keegan's selection of Laois

Here is Enda McGinley and Orla Bannon's selection of Tyrone

Here is Oisin Langan and Jessie Barr's selection of Waterford

Here is Enda McEvoy and Gary Halpin's selection of Kilkenny

Here is Cahair O'Kane and Chrissy McKaigue's selection of Derry

Here is Declan Bogue and Colm Bradley's selection of Fermanagh

Here is Jamesie O'Connor and Syl O'Connor's selection of Clare

Here is Tommy Conlon and Sean McGoldrick's selection of Leitrim

Here is Aaron Kernan and Niall McCoy's selection of Armagh

Here is Brendan Hennessy and Patrick Mullins' selection of Carlow

Here is Shane Curran and John Caulfield's selection of Roscommon

Here is Ciarán Barr and Neil McManus' selection of Antrim

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Denis Connerton Dessie Barry Eddie Macken Longford Longford GAA Mickey Quinn Mount Rushmore Otb Am Ray Flynn