Highlights on Off The Ball

10:00 AM-01:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball

REVEALED | The Tyrone sporting Mount Rushmore

Tyrone were up today for the Mount Rushmore selection, and it wasn't easy to narrow down the Red ...

REVEALED | The Tyrone sporting...

REVEALED | The Tyrone sporting Mount Rushmore

Tyrone were up today for the Mount Rushmore selection, and it wasn't easy to narrow down the Red Hand's sporting history to just four names.

Former Tyrone midfielder Enda McGinley and sports journalist Orla Bannon joined Eoin and Nathan on OTB AM, and the number of gaelic footballers proved tough to decide on.

Some big names missed out - including rugby legend Willie Anderson, 1985 world snooker champion Dennis Taylor, and gaelic football stars Brian Dooher and Seán Cavanagh.

Here were the final four picks for the Tyrone Mount Rushmore:



One of the most decorated players in the history of the game, Canavan won two All-Ireland medals and six All-Stars. His club teammate Enda McGinley said he represents everything that's great about Tyrone.

"He is iconic. If you want a true icon of his sport, then Peter is that. If you want a leader of men, then Peter is that. If you want somebody that has achieved the greatest honours in the game, then Peter is that.

"If you want somebody that for me represents a lot of what is good about our county and for me represents the best of us, then Peter was that."

28 September 2003; Tyrone captain Peter Canavan is held aloft by the crowd after victory over Armagh. Bank of Ireland All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final, Armagh v Tyrone, Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit; Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE


GOLF - Darren Clarke

The 2011 Open champion had 21 tournament wins during his pro career, and McGinley said he had to be selected for his achievements on the international stage.

"His achievements on a national stage in an international sport has been massive. He's a very much-loved character, he imbues quite a bit about what makes Tyrone people so great."

19 July 2011; Golfer Darren Clarke with the Golf Champion Trophy, Claret Jug, speaking during a press conference, following his victory at the weekend in the Open Championship at Royal St George's. Royal Portrush Golf Club, Dunluce Rd, Portrush, Co. Antrim. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE



The Red Hand maestro was at the helm as Tyrone won three All-Ireland titles in 2003, 2005, and 2008. He is of course still in charge to this day, and McGinley made his case.

"Can you really leave Mickey Harte out? You can't separate him from what Tyrone achieved in the noughties, which is really [to] set Tyrone up as a county as it is at the minute."

21 September 2008; Tyrone manager Mickey Harte celebrates at the end of the game. GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final, Kerry v Tyrone, Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE


HOCKEY - Shirley McCay

The Drumquin woman is Ireland's most-capped sportswoman in any code, lining out since 2007 at senior international level.

Orla Bannon explained why the 32-year-old had to be included.

"Tyrone is not a hotbed of hockey in any way, shape or form, but when you think Shirley McCay is Ireland's most-capped female sportsperson ever with 305 caps, what she has done is nothing short of outstanding."

3 November 2019; Shirley McCay of Ireland celebrates after the FIH Women's Olympic Qualifier match between Ireland and Canada at Energia Park in Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile


Missed any of our Mount Rushmore county-by-county series? Watch back all episodes here! 

Here is Nathan Murphy's selection of Mayo

Here is Colm Boohig's selection of Cork

Here is Will O'Callaghan and Paul Rouse's selection of Offaly

Here is Shane Hannon and Gráinne McElwain's selection of Monaghan

Here is Diarmuid Lyng and Liam Griffin's selection of Wexford

Here is Neil Treacy and Jack Anderson's selection of Limerick

Here is Enda Coll and Kieran Cunningham's selection of Donegal

Here is Máire-Treasa Nic-Cheallaigh and Michael Lyster's selection of Galway

Here is Adrian Barry and Conor Moore's selection of Westmeath

Here is Ronan Mullen and Dan McDonnell's selection of Louth

Here is Alan Quinlan and Michael Quinlivan's selection of Tipperary

Here is Tommy Rooney and Hector Ó'hEochagáin's selection of Meath

Here is Conor Deegan and Donal O'Neill's selection of Down

Here is Ger Gilroy and Joe Molloy's selection of Kildare

Here is Thom Malone and Paul Howard's selection of Wicklow

Here is Dave McIntyre and Paul Fitzpatrick's selection of Cavan

Here is Arthur O'Dea and Alan Cawley's selection of Sligo

Here is Eoin Sheahan and Kieran Donaghy's selection of Kerry

Here is Cliona Foley and Shane Keegan's selection of Laois

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Enda Mcginley Mount Rushmore Off The Ball Orla Bannon Otb Am Peter Canavan Tyrone Tyrone GAA