LIVE: OTB Breakfast

07:30 AM-10:00 AM

LIVE: OTB Breakfast

REVEALED: The Dublin sporting Mount Rushmore

Our last Mount Rushmore is in the books, after Brian Kerr and John Duggan settled on the County D...

REVEALED: The Dublin sporting...

REVEALED: The Dublin sporting Mount Rushmore

Our last Mount Rushmore is in the books, after Brian Kerr and John Duggan settled on the County Dublin final four on OTB AM.

In the last couple of days, we had separate North Dublin and South Dublin shortlists chosen, and our selectors this morning went their own paths for the final capital selections.

Brian Kerr and our own John Duggan disagreed on their respective mountains, but we eventually got them to nail down these names:


SOCCER - Paul McGrath

"I'm looking for a bit of magic, a bit of legend, a bit of stardust, a bit of the intangible... Paul McGrath - the triumph through adversity."

Strong words from John Duggan for McGrath - the former Manchester United and Aston Villa star beat competition from the likes of John Giles, Liam Brady, Robbie Keane, Damien Duff and Kevin Moran to be a soccer representative on Dublin's mountain.

Is McGrath the greatest player the Republic of Ireland has ever seen?

18 June 1994; Paul McGrath of Republic of Ireland tackles Giuseppe Signori of Italy during the FIFA World Cup 1994 Group E match between Republic of Ireland and Italy at Giants Stadium in New Jersey, USA. Photo by David Maher/Sportsfile



It was the former Dublin manager chosen to represent the county's great success on the gaelic football stage in the last decade.

Gavin led the Dubs to six All-Ireland titles, including the five-in-a-row. Arguments were put forward for Stephen Cluxton, but it is his former manager that makes the ultimate selection.

14 September 2019; Dublin manager Jim Gavin after the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final Replay between Dublin and Kerry at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile


GOLF - Pádraig Harrington

Three-time Major winner Harrington is beloved by people the country over, and so it's no suprise to see the Rathfarnham native make it.

His back-to-back Open wins in 2007 and 2008 were followed religiously by the Irish people, and he will captain Team Europe at the re-scheduled Ryder Cup next year.

21 July 2008; Padraig Harrington, who won The Open Championship for a second time, with the Golf Champion Trophy (Claret Jug) on his arrival home at Weston airport, Leixlip, Co. Kildare. Picture credit: Pat Murphy / SPORTSFILE


BOXING - Michael Carruth

Brian Kerr was allowed to make one change to John's final selection - and he opted to remove Brian O'Driscoll for the 1992 Olympic champion.

Carruth's gold medal in Barcelona was Ireland's first at the Olympis Games since Ronnie Delany in 1956, and our first ever in boxing.

19 September 1998; Michael Carruth celebrates with the WAA Welterweight Championship belt after defeating Scott Dixon at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght, Dublin. Photo by David Maher/Sportsfile


Missed any of our Mount Rushmore county-by-county series? Watch back all episodes here! 

Here is Nathan Murphy's selection of Mayo

Here is Colm Boohig's selection of Cork

Here is Will O'Callaghan and Paul Rouse's selection of Offaly

Here is Shane Hannon and Gráinne McElwain's selection of Monaghan

Here is Diarmuid Lyng and Liam Griffin's selection of Wexford

Here is Neil Treacy and Jack Anderson's selection of Limerick

Here is Enda Coll and Kieran Cunningham's selection of Donegal

Here is Máire-Treasa Nic-Cheallaigh and Michael Lyster's selection of Galway

Here is Adrian Barry and Conor Moore's selection of Westmeath

Here is Ronan Mullen and Dan McDonnell's selection of Louth

Here is Alan Quinlan and Michael Quinlivan's selection of Tipperary

Here is Tommy Rooney and Hector Ó'hEochagáin's selection of Meath

Here is Conor Deegan and Donal O'Neill's selection of Down

Here is Ger Gilroy and Joe Molloy's selection of Kildare

Here is Thom Malone and Paul Howard's selection of Wicklow

Here is Dave McIntyre and Paul Fitzpatrick's selection of Cavan

Here is Arthur O'Dea and Alan Cawley's selection of Sligo

Here is Eoin Sheahan and Kieran Donaghy's selection of Kerry

Here is Cliona Foley and Shane Keegan's selection of Laois

Here is Enda McGinley and Orla Bannon's selection of Tyrone

Here is Oisin Langan and Jessie Barr's selection of Waterford

Here is Enda McEvoy and Gary Halpin's selection of Kilkenny

Here is Cahair O'Kane and Chrissy McKaigue's selection of Derry

Here is Declan Bogue and Colm Bradley's selection of Fermanagh

Here is Jamesie O'Connor and Syl O'Connor's selection of Clare

Here is Tommy Conlon and Sean McGoldrick's selection of Leitrim

Here is Aaron Kernan and Niall McCoy's selection of Armagh

Here is Brendan Hennessy and Patrick Mullins' selection of Carlow

Here is Shane Curran and John Caulfield's selection of Roscommon

Here is Ciarán Barr and Neil McManus' selection of Antrim

Here is Mickey Quinn and Denis Connerton's selection of Longford

Here is the selection of North Dublin

Here is Stephen Doyle and Phil Egan's selection of South Dublin

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Brian Kerr Dublin Dublin GAA Eamonn Coghlan John Duggan John Giles Kevin Moran Michael Carruth Mount Rushmore Otb Am Padraig Harrington Paul McGrath