Highlights on Off The Ball

05:00 PM-12:00 AM

Highlights on Off The Ball
Other Sports

Eoin Morgan coming home to play for Dublin Chiefs in Euro T20 Slam

England's World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan is to return home in a brand new cricket competit...

Eoin Morgan coming home to pla...
Other Sports

Eoin Morgan coming home to play for Dublin Chiefs in Euro T20 Slam

England's World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan is to return home in a brand new cricket competition. 

Morgan has been drafted as the 'icon player' for Dublin Chiefs in the newly-founded Euro T20 Slam.

The competition will see two sides apiece from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands compete in a 33-match tournament that begins on August 30.

The Malahide Cricket Club will host the last of three legs of the tournament, following stops in Amstelveen and Edinburgh.

Morgan's been joined in the Dublin Chiefs' squad by Pakistani T20 legend Babar Azar, who was drafted as their 'marquee player'. New Zealand legend Daniel Vettori will coach the side.

Ireland internationals Andrew Balbirnie, Kevin O'Brien and George Dockrell are also drafted into the Dublin squad.

Former Pakistan captain Shahid "Boom Boom" Afridi was drafted as the 'icon player' for the Belfast Titans, with JP Duminy their 'marquee' star. They're joined by the likes of Mark Adair, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson. Belfast will be coached by Ian Pont.

Morgan is pleased with the opportunity to play on home soil again, "I am proud and delighted to participate in the inaugural Euro T20 Slam.

"You only have to look at the calibre of international and local stars who have been selected to see that it’s going to be an electrifying tournament across three new T20 locations in northern Europe.

"There’s huge interest in the Euro T20 Slam and the teams are really taking shape. It’s going to be incredibly competitive and I can’t wait to get going."

Dublin Chiefs' campaign begins with a match against Edinburgh Rocks at the VRA Cricket Ground in Amstelveen on August 31st.

The round-robin phase will conclude in Malahide, with the final match on September 19 seeing the Chiefs face the Titans.

The top four sides will advance to the semi-finals, and then the final - all of which will also be played at Malahide.

Some of the other talent taking part includes Shane Watson and Imran Tahir (Amsterdam Knights), Martin Guptill and Chris Lynn (Edinburgh Rocks), Brendon McCullum and Dale Steyn (Glasgow Giants), and Rashid Khan and Luke Ronchi (Rotterdam Rhinos).

Dublin Chiefs squad: Eoin Morgan*, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam**, Andrew Balbirnie, Corbin Bosch, Dan Christian, Gareth Delany, Robert Frylinck, Harry Gurney, Tyrone Kane, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Kevin O’Brien, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker
Coach: Daniel Vettori

Belfast Titans squad: Shahid Afridi*, Mark Adair, JP Duminy**, Shane Getkate, Colin Ingram, Muhammad Ilyas, Andrew McBrine, Mitchell McClenaghan, Muhammad Nawaz, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Aaron Summers, Greg Thompson, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Luke Wright, Craig Young
Coach: Ian Pont

*Denotes Icon Player
**Denotes Marquee Player

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Cricket Cricket World Cup Daniel Vettori Dublin Chiefs Eoin Morgan Euro T20 Slam Shahid Afridi