Repeat: Off The Ball

10:00 PM-12:00 AM

Repeat: Off The Ball

REVEALED: The Antrim sporting Mount Rushmore

We're going to go out on a limb and say County Antrim provided the toughest competition of any ye...

REVEALED: The Antrim sporting...

REVEALED: The Antrim sporting Mount Rushmore

We're going to go out on a limb and say County Antrim provided the toughest competition of any yet in our Mount Rushmore series.

Ciarán Barr and Neil McManus made the final four picks, ably assisted by Stephen Ferris, who joined the chat to give his final pitch.

Any county that can leave off the likes of Alex 'Hurricane' Higgins, Willie John McBride and Carl Frampton has some serious sporting talent.

Here were the final four picked on the Antrim Mount Rushmore:



There were no arguments whatsoever over AP's inclusion. What an iconic career he had - winning Champion Jockey a record 20 consecutive times.

He won all the big ones over the course of his time in the sport - the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Aintree Grand National in 2010 onboard Don't Push It, the Champion Hurdle, the Queen Mother Champion Chase, the King George VI Chase, and plenty others.

An icon of racing.

7 April 2015; Jockey Tony McCoy returns to the weigh room after the I.N.H. Stallion Owners European Breeders Fund Novice Handicap Hurdle Series Final. Fairyhouse Easter Festival, Fairyhouse, Co. Meath. Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE



A man who transcended his sport, a sport that is widely popular around those windy roads in the north-east.

Dunlop was tragically killed in an accident during a race in Estonia 20 years ago, but not before he had achieved greatness.

His wins included three hat-tricks at the iconic Isle of Man TT meeting in 1985, 1988, and 2000, as well as the Ulster Grand Prix 24 times.


ATHLETICS - Mary Peters

A gold medalist in the pentathlon at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich, Peters' name is forever inextricably linked with sport in Northern Ireland.

She represented Northern Ireland at every Commonwealth Games between 1958 and 1974, winning two gold medals in the pentathlon, and a gold and silver in the shot put.


HURLING - Terence McNaughton

The competition for a GAA place on the mountain heated up, with Kevin Armstrong, Seanie Burns and others up for consideration.

However, ultimately it was McNaughton that got the nod, after a career that included reaching an All-Ireland final, winning an All-Star in 1991, and a managerial career that saw the Cushendall native take charge of his native county.

Terence McNaughton Antrim Hurling. Photograph Ray McManus SPORTSFILE.


Missed any of our Mount Rushmore county-by-county series? Watch back all episodes here! 

Here is Nathan Murphy's selection of Mayo

Here is Colm Boohig's selection of Cork

Here is Will O'Callaghan and Paul Rouse's selection of Offaly

Here is Shane Hannon and Gráinne McElwain's selection of Monaghan

Here is Diarmuid Lyng and Liam Griffin's selection of Wexford

Here is Neil Treacy and Jack Anderson's selection of Limerick

Here is Enda Coll and Kieran Cunningham's selection of Donegal

Here is Máire-Treasa Nic-Cheallaigh and Michael Lyster's selection of Galway

Here is Adrian Barry and Conor Moore's selection of Westmeath

Here is Ronan Mullen and Dan McDonnell's selection of Louth

Here is Alan Quinlan and Michael Quinlivan's selection of Tipperary

Here is Tommy Rooney and Hector Ó'hEochagáin's selection of Meath

Here is Conor Deegan and Donal O'Neill's selection of Down

Here is Ger Gilroy and Joe Molloy's selection of Kildare

Here is Thom Malone and Paul Howard's selection of Wicklow

Here is Dave McIntyre and Paul Fitzpatrick's selection of Cavan

Here is Arthur O'Dea and Alan Cawley's selection of Sligo

Here is Eoin Sheahan and Kieran Donaghy's selection of Kerry

Here is Cliona Foley and Shane Keegan's selection of Laois

Here is Enda McGinley and Orla Bannon's selection of Tyrone

Here is Oisin Langan and Jessie Barr's selection of Waterford

Here is Enda McEvoy and Gary Halpin's selection of Kilkenny

Here is Cahair O'Kane and Chrissy McKaigue's selection of Derry

Here is Declan Bogue and Colm Bradley's selection of Fermanagh

Here is Jamesie O'Connor and Syl O'Connor's selection of Clare

Here is Tommy Conlon and Sean McGoldrick's selection of Leitrim

Here is Aaron Kernan and Niall McCoy's selection of Armagh

Here is Brendan Hennessy and Patrick Mullins' selection of Carlow

Here is Shane Curran and John Caulfield's selection of Roscommon

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

AP McCoy Alex Higgins Antrim Antrim Gaa Carl Frampton Joey Dunlop Mary Peters Mount Rushmore Terence McNaughton Willie John McBride