Highlights on Off The Ball

02:00 PM-06:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball


Addison to make first Ulster start of the season, Goggin returns for Munster

Will Addison will make his first start of the season for Ulster in Friday night's Rainbow Cup gam...

Will Addison will make his first start of the season for Ulster in Friday night's Rainbow Cup game with Munster. 

His introduction at outside-centre is one of nine changes from last week's Challenge Cup defeat to Leicester Tigers.

Jacob Stockdale keeps his place at full-back, with Ethan McIlroy on the wing. The opposite flank will be manned by Rob Lyttle.

Partnering Addison in the centre will be Stuart McCloskey, with Mike Lowry and Alby Mathewson combining in the half-backs.

There's a whole new front row from the one that started at Welford Road, with Andrew Warwick, John Andrew and Tom O'Toole drafted into the side. Th

Fresh off his inclusion on the Lions squad to tour South Africa, Iain Henderson captains Ulster from an unchanged second-row alongside Alan O'Connor.

In the back row, Marcus Rea starts at openside flanker, Jordi Murphy switches to the blindside and David McCann is named at number-8.

There's also a welcome return to the Ulster matchday 23 for Angus Curtis. The versatile back hasn't played since suffering an ACL injury against Leinster in December 2019.

Ulster XV: 15. Jacob Stockdale, 14. Rob Lyttle, 13. Will Addison, 12. Stuart McCloskey, 11. Ethan McIlroy, 10. Mike Lowry, 9. Alby Mathewson.

1. Andrew Warwick, 2. Rob Andrew, 3. Tom O'Toole, 4. Alan O'Connor, 5. Iain Henderson (c), 6. Jordi Murphy, 7. Marcus Rea, 8. David McCann.

Replacements: 16. Rob Herring, 17. Callum Reid, 18. Marty Moore, 19. Sam Carter, 20. Nick Timoney, 21. David Shanahan, 22. Angus Curtis, 23. James Hume.

Munster head coach Johann van Graan has also made wholesale changes from the side that finally got the better of Leinster last weekend.

In all, there are eight changes to the starting XV with Dan Goggin starting a game for the first time since picking up a hand injury in January.

He's joined in the centre by Rory Scannell. Andrew Conway is back on the wing, while JJ Hanrahan replaces Joey Carbery at out-half.

John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete and Gavin Coombes all come into the Munster pack.

Freshly minted Lions Conor Murray and Tadhg Beirne also start.

Munster XV: 15. Mike Haley, 14. Andrew Conway, 13. Dan Goggin, 12. Rory Scannell, 11. Shane Daly, 10. JJ Hanrahan, 9. Conor Murray.

1. Dave Kilcoyne, 2. Niall Scannell, 3. John Ryan, 4. Fineen Wycherley, 5. Tadhg Beirne, 6. Peter O'Mahony (c), 7. Chris Cloete, 8. Gavin Coombes

Replacements: 16. Kevin O’Byrne, 17. Jeremy Loughman, 18. Roman Salanoa, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. CJ Stander, 21. Nick McCarthy, 22. Ben Healy, 23. Damian de Allende.

Lancaster’s advice to Lions hopefuls not called up to Gatland’s squad

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Conor Murray Dan Goggin Jj Hanrahan Lions Munster Rainbow Cup Tadhg Beirne Ulster Will Addison