Following the news that New Zealand full-back Jordie Barrett has been cleared to play the rest of the Rugby Championship, Alan Quinlan has called the decision to rescind a red card given to the All Black "a mockery of the laws."
Barrett was sent off in Sunday's test match against Australia for reckless play. The 24-year old rose for a high ball and struck Australia's Marika Koroibete in the face in the process.
"It was reckless," admitted Quinlan. "He didn't look to kick him in the face intentionally, but it was a red card."
The SANZAAR committee found Barrett not guilty of dangerous play and rescinded the suspension during the hearing on Tuesday. The statement read:
"He legitimately went up in the air to collect a high ball when, in trying to regain his balance on the downward trajectory, his boot inadvertently made contact with his opponent's head," said committee chairman Robert Stelzner.
"I don't agree with any of that," Quinlan disagreed. "It's blatant to see it. It looks like he has the ball, and at the last second, his leg comes out."
— Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby) September 5, 2021
Quinlan went on to describe the decision as a mockery of the law despite the committee's reasonings despite the committee's reasoning.
"It's very rare you're gonna get sent off, and it's gonna be rescinded, and it's a blatant mistake by the TMO. It kind of makes a mockery of the laws, really. I don't think there's a need for this."
The former Ireland and Munster player was very vocal on the topic and believed the act by Barrett was a clearly dangerous play.
"Whether he meant it or not, how in God's name, in 2021, was that rescinded. I don't know why you show your studs in the air."
Quinlan was quick to mention this decision would likely not be taken in the Northern Hemisphere.
"It's not personal; he's (Barrett) a fantastic player," Quinlan confessed. "I just don't think that happens here in the Northern Hemisphere.
Quinlan also interjected on the new rules trialed regarding red card replacements. The rules have been trialed in the Rainbow Cup, and the former back-row believes the idea is ridiculous.
"I think it's absolutely ludicrous," Quinlan said passionately. "A red card is a red card. Bringing a player on after 20-minutes after a sending-off is just a joke."