Highlights on Off The Ball

10:00 AM-01:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball


Ben Healy commits future to Munster by signing senior contract

Ben Healy has ended speculation about his future by signing a senior contract with Munster. The ...

Ben Healy has ended speculation about his future by signing a senior contract with Munster.

The out-half, who was part of Ireland's under-20 Grand Slam winning squad in 2019, has impressed in his 12 appearances with the Munster first-team this season.

Healy had been linked with a potential switch to the Glasgow Warriors but he'll now progress from the Reds' academy to a senior deal this summer.

Versatile back Jake Flannery, Ireland 20s loosehead prop James French, back-row John Hodnett, and wing Seán French will also graduate from Munster's academy to full-time contracts.

Ireland capped full-back Mike Haley, back-row Gavin Coombes and scrum-half Neil Cronin have all put pen to paper on contract extensions through to the summer of 2023.

“Off the back of the great news about Peter’s IRFU contract this morning, it’s a further boost for the province that we can add these latest names to the squad roster for next season," said Munster head-coach Johann van Graan of today's contract news.

“Securing the continued services of quality players such as Mike, Gavin and Neil allows us to focus on our future planning and objectives for this group.  They are an exciting dynamic trio who add huge value to the squad.

“In terms of the younger lads it’s always great seeing the next generation of players stepping up and reaching their potential, and it’s credit to the work that’s carried out in clubs and schools that helped them to get to this point.”

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Ben Healy Gavin Coombes Mike Haley Munster Neil Cronin