LIVE: OTB Weekend

02:00 PM-07:00 PM

LIVE: OTB Weekend


Here is the Ireland team to play Wales in Cardiff

Joe Schmidt has rewarded Jack Carty with his first start for the Ireland team which faces Wales t...

Joe Schmidt has rewarded Jack Carty with his first start for the Ireland team which faces Wales this weekend.

Ireland have named their starting side to face Wales in Cardiff on Saturday afternoon, with Jack Carty getting the nod at out-half in what will be the Connacht native's first start and sixth overall appearance for his country.

Meanwhile, captain Rory Best will begin the game on the bench with Niall Scannell starting at hooker in place of the 37-year-old. Munster's Peter O'Mahony will skipper the side in Best's absence.

At scrum-half, Kieran Marmion will wear the number nine jersey while Ulster's Will Addison lines out at full-back.

It is Ireland's second-last warm-up game before the World Cup gets underway in Japan next month. Ireland's first game in Pool A is against Scotland on Sunday, September 22nd. Kick-off Irish time is 8.45am.

Before then though, Joe Schmidt's men will be looking to respond to last weekend's 57-15 demolition at the hands of England at Twickenham by taking on the world's top-ranked side in their own back yard.

In total, Schmidt has made 11 changes to last Saturday's beaten side with only O'Mahony, Bundee Aki, Iain Henderson and Jacob Stockdale remaining in the first XV.

The final 31-man squad for Ireland's Rugby World Cup campaign will be submitted to World Rugby on Monday.

Kick-off between Wales and Ireland from Cardiff's Principality Stadium is at 2.30pm on Saturday afternoon.

Here is the full Ireland team:

15. Will Addison (Enniskillen/Ulster)

14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster)

13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster)

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht)

11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster)

10. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)

9. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht)

1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)

3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

4. Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster)

5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)

6. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster)

7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt)

8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


16. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

17. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)

18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)

19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster)

21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)

22. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

23. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

2019 Rugby World Cup Ireland Irish Rugby Jack Carty Joe Schmidt Wales Rugby