Highlights on Off The Ball

02:00 PM-06:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball


Josh van der Flier set to win 90th Leinster cap against Glasgow

Josh van der Flier is set to play his 90th game for Leinster when they host Glasgow in the Guinne...

Josh van der Flier is set to play his 90th game for Leinster when they host Glasgow in the Guinness PRO14 on Sunday evening. 

The flanker, who started in the Six Nations against Wales and France, saw his place in the Ireland team go to his provincial teammate Will Connors for the match at Italy tomorrow.

Josh Murphy is at blindside for the reigning champion with van der Flier at openside and Scott Penny getting his first start at number eight.

Peter Dooley, Seán Cronin and Michael Bent are the front row trio with experienced duo Devin Toner and Scott Fardy in the second row. Toner will earn his 258th cap, moving him within three of the club's record appearance maker Gordon D’Arcy.

Luke McGrath will captain the team with Harry Byrne at out-half and Ciaran Frawley and Rory O'Loughlin in midfield. Jimmy O'Brien has shaken off a hamstring issue to start at full-back with Cian Kelleher and Dave Kearney on the wings.

20-year-old Ukrainian born back-row Alex Soroka is in line to make his debut from the bench.

"I think Glasgow has always been a very tough opposition to play against," Leinster attack coach Felipe Contepomi said ahead of the game at the RDS.

"I think they're a great team - a very, very good team in attack with a lot of physicality, and also in defence.

"They feel comfortable coming here to the RDS because they beat us here two years ago. I think it is a great opportunity for us to improve what we have done the last weekend, and to focus on our performance and trying to get better.

"Because it is one of those teams you want to play against because you know they’ll bring, as Dave Rennie used to say, brutality into their game.

"And it’s physicality. It’s good we are looking forward to that challenge. Definitely."

Leinster: Jimmy O’Brien; Cian Kelleher, Rory O’Loughlin, Ciarán Frawley, Dave Kearney; Harry Byrne, Luke McGrath capt; Peter Dooley, Seán Cronin, Michael Bent, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Josh Murphy, Josh van der Flier, Scott Penny.

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Greg McGrath, Tom Clarkson, Jack Dunne, Alex Soroka, Rowan Osborne, David Hawkshaw, Jamie Osborne.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Glasgow Josh Van Der Flier Leinster Pro14