OTB Gold

01:00 PM-02:00 PM

OTB Gold


Leinster and Munster opt to rest their Lions for final Rainbow Cup fixtures

With Benetton already confirmed as Europe's Rainbow Cup finalists, Munster and Leinster have left...

With Benetton already confirmed as Europe's Rainbow Cup finalists, Munster and Leinster have left out their Lions players for their final fixtures of the season.

PRO14 winners Leinster haven't included South Africa tour-bound Tadhg Furlong, Jack Conan or Robbie Henshaw for the visit of Dragons to the RDS.

Ireland captain Johnny Sexton trained this week with the province but he's been part of the squad for the game, which will be played in front of 1,200 supporters in south Dublin.

It'll afford a chance for retiring duo Scott Fardy and Michael Bent to bow out in front of a home crowd and they've both been selected to start by Leinster head-coach Leo Cullen.

Garry Ringrose will captain the side, with James Ryan in line to win his 50th cap from the second row.

Leinster v Dragons: Hugo Keenan, Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose (C), Rory O’Loughlin, Jimmy O’Brien, Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Cian Healy, Rónan Kelleher, Michael Ben, Ryan Baird, James Ryan, Scott Fardy, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: James Tracy, Michael Milne, Vakh Abdaladze, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier, Luke McGrath, Harry Byrne, Cian Kelleher.



Munster head-coach Johann van Graan has also given Conor Murray and Tadhg Beirne the weekend off before their involvement with the Lions.

CJ Stander has played his final game for the Reds, he's out of their trip to Zebre due to burns suffered in a fire pit accident last weekend.

Damian de Allende, RG Snyman and Mike Haley, who were also hurt in the incident, have also been ruled out of the game in Parma.

Skibbereen cousins Liam and Gavin Coombes start together for the third time with Matt Gallagher, Chris Farrell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan and captain Peter O’Mahony also returning to the side.

Munster v Zebre: Matt Gallagher; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, Roman Salanoa, Thomas Ahern, Billy Holland, Nick McCarthy, Jake Flannery, Chris Cloete.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Leinster Munster Rainbow Cup