OTB Gold

01:00 PM-02:00 PM

OTB Gold


WATCH: Leinster come back to break Munster hearts

A new chapter in the Leinster-Munster rivalry was written on Saturday, as the postponed inter-pro...

A new chapter in the Leinster-Munster rivalry was written on Saturday, as the postponed inter-pro took place in a snowy Thomond Park.

Originally scheduled to take place on St Stephen's Day, the match was postponed due to two positive COVID-19 cases in the Leinster camp.

Both sides came into the match fully stocked, in the final match for Andy Farrell to decide on his first choice players ahead of the Six Nations next month, as he is set to announce his squad in the last week of January.

CJ Stander extended his run as the most capped foreign-born player for Munster, as he ran out for his 15oth game for the province at Thomond Park.

Meanwhile, Johnny Sexton looked to prove his form and fitness ahead of the Six Nations, starting for the defending champions.

The hosts were the first to get on the scoreboard through the boot of JJ Hanrahan, who slotted a penalty in the opening six minutes.

The extended their early lead after building pressure inside the Leinster 22m. Tadhg Beirne crashed over the line with the help of Jean Kleyn to score under the posts. Hanrahan extended the lead to 1o points after 13 minutes played.

Halfway through the first half Leinster were still in search of their first points of the match. They eventually found them through the boot of Sexton after Muster were deemed to be off their feet at the breakdown.

Leinster made a number of uncharacteristic errors inside the Munster 22m, which meant that the hosts were able to keep their visitors out for most of the first half.

Hanrahan attempted to take his side back out to a 10-point lead on the stroke of half time, however he was unable to convert the penalty, allowing Leinster one last opportunity to attack.

After an attacking lineout gifted to them from a couple of penalties, Leo Cullen's men fought their way into the Munster half. Five minutes after the 40, Sexton closed the gap to just four points, taking the sides to half time.

Leinster vs Munster Peter O'Mahony Peter O’Mahony of Munster is tackled by Garry Ringrose of Leinster during the Guinness PRO14 match between Munster and Leinster at Thomond Park in Limerick. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

The hosts piled the pressure onto Leinster for the opening minutes of the second half, however an uncharacteristic missed penalty from Hanrahan allowed Leinster to ease some of the pressure early on.

After weathering the early pressure from Munster, Leinster applied their own pressure to the hosts' try line with 15 minuted played in the second half.

For the third time in the match, Munster were able to turnover the ball on their own try line and keep out the defending champions.

With 15 minutes left in the match, the scores remained unchanged from half time, as neither side were able to capitalise on their periods of pressure.

It took all of 70 minutes for the visitors to secure their first try of the game, as Jordan Larmour took advantage of a set move play off the back of a Leinster lineout.

Ross Byrne added the conversion to take a three point lead for the first time in the match.

With two minutes left in the game, Johan van Graan's men were looking to salvage the game that they had controlled for much of the 80 minutes.

With a promising overlap for the hosts out wide, Damian de Allende dropped the ball, giving possession back to Leinster for the final minute of the game.

As the clock turned red, Luke McGrath was happy to put the ball into row 20 of the stands, earning the fifth consecutive victory over Munster.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Andy Farrell Ben Healy CJ Stander Chris Farrell Garry Ringrose Jean Kleyn Jj Hanrahan Johan Van Graan Johnny Sexton Jordan Larmour Keith Earls Leinster Leo Cullen Munster Peter O'Mahony Pro14 Ross Byrne Stuart Lancaster Tadhg Beirne