Repeat: Off The Ball

10:00 PM-12:00 AM

Repeat: Off The Ball


Seven new players from November 2018 in New Zealand team for Saturday

Steve Hansen has named his New Zealand team to face Ireland in the 2019 Rugby World Cup quarter-f...

Steve Hansen has named his New Zealand team to face Ireland in the 2019 Rugby World Cup quarter-final this Saturday in Tokyo, with seven new players in the side compared to the clash between the countries in Dublin last November.

Karl Tu'inukuafe, Owen Franks, Liam Squire, Rieko Ioane, Ryan Crotty, Ben Smith and Damian McKenzie all played in that match but do not feature this time, with four of them not even making the World Cup squad.

Joe Moody, Sam Cane, George Bridge and Sevu Reece didn't play any part in the match last November, while Nepo Laulala, Richie Mo'unga and Anton Lienert-Brown came off the bench.

The only slight surprise in Hansen’s team is that Codie Taylor gets the nod ahead of Dane Coles at hooker, while Ben Smith does not make the matchday 23.

Brodie Retallick and Sam Whitelock will appear together in the second row for the 53rd time, which is a New Zealand record. Speaking in Tokyo this morning, Steve Hansen said such experience is necessary at this level.

“We feel we’ve selected a great mixture of talent in our 23, who are in great form, and the squad includes many players who have a lot of Rugby World Cup knockout match experience,” he said.

“There’s a lot of energy and excitement in the team which is normal for this stage of the tournament where the winner takes all. It will add extra pressure to both sides."

New Zealand team to play Ireland this Saturday:

  1. Joe Moody
  2. Codie Taylor
  3. Nepo Laulala
  4. Brodie Retallick
  5. Samuel Whitelock
  6. Ardie Savea
  7. Sam Cane
  8. Kieran Read (capt.)
  9. Aaron Smith
  10. Richie Mo'unga
  11. George Bridge
  12. Anton Lienert-Brown
  13. Jack Goodhue
  14. Sevu Reece
  15. Beauden Barrett


  1. Dane Coles
  2. Ofa Tuungafasi
  3. Angus Ta'avao
  4. Scott Barrett
  5. Matt Todd
  6. TJ Perenara
  7. Sonny Bill Williams
  8. Jordie Barrett

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

2019 All Blacks Announcement Ireland Japan Off The Ball Quarter Final RWC Rugby Rugby World Cup Sports Steve Hansen Team Tokyo World Cup