Repeat: Off The Ball

02:00 AM-05:00 AM

Repeat: Off The Ball


Shane Delahunt to win 100th Connacht cap against Ospreys

Hooker Shane Delahunt is set to become a Connacht centurion in their season finale clash with Osp...

Hooker Shane Delahunt is set to become a Connacht centurion in their season finale clash with Ospreys tomorrow night. 

The Birr-native, who joined Connacht's academy in 2014, has been picked to start in the number two shirt for the Rainbow Cup match at the Sportsground

“I’m delighted for Shane Delahunt who becomes the latest centurion in the squad," Connacht head-coach Andy Friend said of the landmark appearance.

"Shane always gives us huge energy and he’s had a big increase in game-time this season which is a testament to him and how he’s performed. He’s a great character and a popular member of the dressing room too.

"We’d obviously prefer to be in the chasing pack for the Final but it’s still important we finish the season on a high. It’s been such a strange and long 12 months for all the players and staff, but we owe it to ourselves, the supporters and our departing players and staff that we do everything to win this one.”

Delahunt forms a new-look front-row with props Jordan Duggan and Dominic Robertson-McCoy, while Niall Murray and Ultan Dillane continue their second row partnership.

Eoghan Masterson comes in to start at number 8, with flankers Cian Prendergast and captain Jarrad Butler keeping their places in the back-row.

Caolin Blade and Jack Carty are paired in the half-backs with Bundee Aki getting more game-time ahead of the Lions' tour by starting in midfield alongside Tom Daly.

Ben O’Donnell comes onto the wing, with Peter Sullivan on the opposite side and Alex Wootton moving to full-back.

Connacht v Ospreys: Alex Wootton, Peter Sullivan, Bundee Aki, Tom Daly, Ben O'Donnell; Jack Carty, Caolin Blade; Jordan Duggan, Shane Delahunt, Dominic Robertson-McCoy; Niall Murray, Ultan Dillane; Cian Prendergast, Jarrad Butler, Eoghan Masterson.

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Matthew Burke, Jack Aungier, Oisin Dowling, Sean Masterson, Kieran Marmion, Conor Fitzgerald, Sammy Arnold.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Connacht Ospreys Shane Delahunt