Highlights on Off The Ball

07:00 AM-01:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball


Springboks name World Cup squad as Elstadt misses the cut

Toulouse flanker Rynhardt Elstadt was the unlucky '32nd man', as South Africa Director of Rugby ...

Toulouse flanker Rynhardt Elstadt was the unlucky '32nd man', as South Africa Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus confirmed his squad for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Erasmus has named the 31 players to travel to Japan for next month's tournament, with Elstadt the only member of last week's training camp not to make the cut. He misses out behind captain Siya Kolisi, Pieter Steph du Toit, Duane Verneulen, Kwagga Smith and Francois Louw in the backrow.

Siya Kolisi will captain the squad, with Erasmus choosing 17 forwards and 14 backs; however, he has bucked a recent selection trend, bringing three scrum-halves and just two out-halves. Handre Polland and Elton Jantjies will fight for the number 10 shirt, while Herschel Jantjies continues his remarkable rise to be chosen as competition to Faf de Klerk.

Three players will be attending their third Rugby World Cup – Frans Steyn, Tendai Mtawarira and Francois Louw. Highlighting the recent turnaround in fortunes for the Springboks, more than half the 31 man squad will be taking part in their first World Cup, while 11 of the group have played 15 tests of less.

Springbok Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus says he's pleased with how his squad have timed their run into form.

"We have been developing this squad since the start of last season and in the 31 we have a good balance of established experience and some exciting youth.

"We set out with the goal of growing the depth of the squad and I am confident that any of this 31 can step into a play-off match at the Rugby World Cup and deliver an outstanding performance."

The Springboks open their Rugby World Cup campaign against New Zealand in Yokohama on Saturday, 21 September before further Pool B matches against Namibia (28 September), Italy (4 October) and Canada (8 October).


Forwards (17)

Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Schalk Brits (Bulls), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Vincent Koch (Saracens/ENG), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Trevor Nyakane (Bulls), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Lood de Jager (Bulls), Franco Mostert (Gloucester/ENG), RG Snyman (Bulls), Siya Kolisi (Stormers, capt), Francois Louw (Bath/ENG), Kwagga Smith (Lions), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Duane Vermeulen (Bulls)

Backs (14)

Warrick Gelant (Bulls), Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz/JPN), Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse/FRA), Sibusiso Nkosi (Sharks), Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Damian de Allende (Stormers), Francois Steyn (Montpellier/FRA), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Handre Pollard (Bulls), Herschel Jantjies (Stormers), Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks/ENG), Cobus Reinach (Northampton Saints/ENG)

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Subscribe to Off The Ball's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Rassie Erasmus Rugby World Cup 2019 Springboks