Repeat: Off The Ball

02:00 AM-05:00 AM

Repeat: Off The Ball


Van der Flier an injury doubt for Ireland, but Larmour brings positive news

Leinster have packed their Ireland contingent off to international camp with mixed news regarding...

Leinster have packed their Ireland contingent off to international camp with mixed news regarding Jordan Larmour and Josh van der Flier. 

The former is set to be available for selection for Andy Farrell in just under a fortnight's time, despite suffering a facial injury in Leinster's handsome win over Bath at the weekend.

But Josh van der Flier picked up a groin problem at The Rec, and he'll be assessed by the Ireland medical staff.

Larmour came away worse-for-wear due to a clash of heads with Bath's Ruaridh McConnochie in the 64-7 victory that punctuated Leinster's Heineken Champions Cup pool phase.

22 January 2022; Jordan Larmour of Leinster with stiches during the Heineken Champions Cup Pool A match between Bath and Leinster at The Recreation Ground in Bath, England. Photo by Harry Murphy/Sportsfile

Neither Tadhg Furlong nor James Ryan were involved in that game, and they will have respective calf and hamstring issues assessed by the Ireland staff prior to the visit of Wales on February 5. Both "have been making good progress", according to their province.

Leinster return to United Rugby Championship action away to Cardiff on Saturday, and will have Josh Murphy (chest) and Dave Kearney monitored before a final decision is made on their fitness.

James Lowe (hamstring), Dan Leavy (wrist), Conor O’Brien (hamstring) and Michael Milne (calf) all remain sidelined for the foreseeable future.

THE OTB LUNCHTIME WRAP | Andy Lyons moves from Bohs to Rovers, Australian Open


Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Dave Kearney Heineken Champions Cup Ireland James Lowe James Ryan Jordan Larmour Josh Van Der Flier Leinster Six Nations United Rugby Championship