Highlights on Off The Ball

02:00 PM-06:00 PM

Highlights on Off The Ball


Wales name strong starting XV for Fiji World Cup clash

Warren Gatland has made just two changes to his side for Wednesday's Rugby World Cup Pool D clash...

Warren Gatland has made just two changes to his side for Wednesday's Rugby World Cup Pool D clash with Fiji, as the Six Nations winners look to guarantee a quarter-final place with a game to spare.

Gatland has chosen to keep most of his front-line internationals in the side, knowing victory would see them advance even ahead of their final pool match with Uruguay.

In come James Davies and Ross Moriarty to the back-row, while Justin Tipuric is rested and Aaron Wainwright drops to the bench.

Dan Biggar also retains his place in the starting side, having failed a HIA during the crucial win against Australia.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones says they won't get complacent, given their failure against the same opposition in 2007.

"We’re well aware that we’re only halfway through the pool stages," he said.

"We’ve had two great starts and potentially taken our foot off the gas.

"Nothing is complete. I don’t think there is any such thing as a perfect game but the results speak for themselves."

Meanwhile, Fiji make just one change from their most recent win against Georgia, with Edinburgh star Viliame Mata replacing Peceli Yato at number 8, Yato dropping to the bench.

Wales: Liam Williams; George North, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Josh Adams; Dan Biggar, Gareth Davies; Wyn Jones, Ken Owens, Tomas Francis; Jake Ball, Alun Wyn Jones (C); Josh Navidi, James Davies, Ross Moriarty

Substitutes: Elliot Dee, Rhys Carre, Dillon Lewis, Aaron Shingler, Aaron Wainwright, Tomos Williams, Rhys Patchell, Owen Watkin.


Fiji: Kini Murimurivalu, Josua Tuisova, Waisea Nayacalevu, Lepani Botia, Semi Radradra, Ben Volavola, Frank Lomani; Viliame Mata, Semi Kunatani, Dominiko Waqaniburotu (captain), Leone Nakarawa, Tevita Cavubati, Manasa Saulo, Samuel Matavesi, Campese Ma'afu.

Substitutes: Mesulame Dolokoto, Eroni Mawi, Peni Ravai, Api Ratuniyarawa, Peceli Yato, Nikola Matawalu, Jale Vatubua, Josh Matavesi.

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Subscribe to Off The Ball's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Dan Biggar James Davies Ross Moriarty Rugby World Cup 2019 Warren Gatland