OTB Gold

01:00 PM-02:00 PM

OTB Gold


Zebo named in Munster team for season opener at Thomond Park

Simon Zebo has been included in Johann van Graan's starting 15 for Saturday’s United Rugby Cham...

Simon Zebo has been included in Johann van Graan's starting 15 for Saturday’s United Rugby Championship opener against the Sharks at Thomond Park.

Peter O'Mahony captains the side, which includes eight players who featured in Ireland's summer series against Japan and the USA.

World Cup winner RG Snyman is set to make his Thomond Park debut off the bench on his second appearance for the province having missed last season through injury.

Mike Haley is named at full-back with Zebo and Andrew Conway on either flank.

Craig Casey and Joey Carbery start together in the half-backs, while Rory Scannell and Dan Goggin form the centre partnership.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan are named in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley started in the engine room.

O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and last season’s Player of the Year Gavin Coombes complete the starting 15.

Along with fellow replacement Snyman, new addition Rowan Osborne is also set to play his first game for Munster at Thomond Park on his competitive debut for the province.

Munster team: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, RG Snyman, Thomas Ahern, Rowan Osborne, Ben Healy, Chris Cloete.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Download the brand new OffTheBall App in the Play Store & App Store right now! We've got you covered!

Subscribe to OffTheBall's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Read more about

Johann Van Graan Munster Peter O'Mahony RG Snyman Simon Zebo Thomond Park United Rugby Championship